Jbaudy Français
Jbaudy English
Jbaudy Español
Jbaudy Deutsch
Jbaudy 中文
Jbaudy 日本語

PhotoBlog | News | Contact | Download |

Chateau Monregard La Croix - Pomerol - JBAudy

CHÂTEAU

WINE

A VERY PARTICULAR ISLAND Jean-Baptiste Audy fell in love and bought this place in 1924. The 1.3 hectares of vines are adjacent to Clos du Clocher – but this island on sand in a sea of clay deserved an entirely different approach. Château Monregard-La-Croix was conceived not as a second wine, but as a brother who shared the same technical team, winery and know-how, but marked by its own individual character and style. PRECIOUS SAND At "La Croix de Catusseau", along the borders of the legendary Pomerol plateau, the vines of Monregard-La-Croix head towards the renowned old sand terroir of Saint Emilion. Three generations have worked hard to fully express the potential of this tiny garden, even before Jean-Baptiste, great grand son of Jean-Baptiste Audy, following a successful international career for Cartier, took the helm.

VINE BY VINE 7,500 vines of Merlot. Not a single vine more, not a single other grape variety. And it is our mission to ensure that each of them receives the best care we can give it: from the pruning to harvesting in small baskets, not forgetting debudding and leaf thinning – each step is a precise gesture that is carefully chosen and carried out by devotees. TRANSLATING NATURE The winery is only the next natural step... allowing the raw materials, these carefully-tended berries, to translate their natural fruit quality into wine. Owner, cellar master and consultant winemakers (Michel Rolland’s team), in the end we are just guardians. PASSION FOR MERLOT Coupled with all this, the early maturity of these soils give Merlot the chance to fully unveil its velvety tannins and rich aromatic palette. Young vintages (2-8 years) best express the pleasure of red fruits, violet, truffle and undergrowth.

" Long, elegant, mineral. Very Pomerol ! " Decanter " Shows soul ! " James Suckling " Subtle and attractive " The Wine Spectator " A very admirable Pomerol. Superb ! " Neal Martin " A fruity, spicy, supple and round pure merlot with soft and velvety tannins " Guide Hachette

Page68 | Page69 | Page70 | Page71 | Page72 |

Jbaudy Français
Jbaudy English
Jbaudy Español
Jbaudy Deutsch
Jbaudy 中文
Jbaudy 日本語

PhotoBlog | News | Contact | Download |

Chateau Monregard La Croix - Pomerol - JBAudy

LE CHÂTEAU

LE VIN

UN ÎLOT SINGULIER Rachetés sur un coup de coeur en 1924 par Jean-Baptiste Audy, ces 1,30 hectares font partie du parcellaire du Clos du Clocher. Mais ce singulier îlot de sables dans une propriété faite d’argiles méritait un traitement à part. Le Château Monregard-La-Croix était né, non comme un second vin, mais comme un frère qui partage équipe technique, lieu d’élevage et savoir-faire, mais impose ses différences et son caractère propre. SABLES PRÉCIEUX A "La Croix de Catusseau", en bordure de ce plateau légendaire de Pomerol, les vignes de Monregard-La-Croix plongent vers les beaux terroirs de sables anciens de Saint-Emilion. Trois générations d’efforts pour exprimer le potentiel de ce "petit jardin" avant que Jean-Baptiste Bourotte, arrière petit-fils de Jean-Baptiste Audy, après une carrière internationale pour le joaillier Cartier, n’en prenne la direction, bien décidé à continuer à y appliquer des méthodes d’orfèvre.

LE VIN

" Long, élégant, minéral. Très Pomerol ! " Decanter " Un vin qui a une âme ! " James Suckling " Subtile et séducteur. " The Wine Spectator " Un Pomerol vraiment admirable. Superbe ! " Neal Martin " Un pur merlot fruité et épicé, souple et rond, aux tanins doux et veloutés. " Guide Hachette

PIED A PIED 100 mètres sur 130 : 7500 pieds de Merlot. Pas un pied de plus, pas un seul autre cépage. Alors il est de notre devoir de prodiguer à chacun d’entre-eux nos soins les plus attentifs; de la taille aux vendanges en cagette, en passant par les épamprages et l’éclaircissage, chaque étape est un geste précis, choisi, confié à des amoureux. TRADUIRE LA NATURE Le chai n’est qu’un prolongement... permettre à cette matière première, à ces baies, de traduire en vin les qualités qu’elles montraient dans le raisin. Propriétaire, maitre de chai, oenologues-conseils (l’équipe de Michel Rolland), nous ne sommes finalement que des passeurs. PASSION MERLOT A ce prix-là, la maturité précoce que cette terre donne au Merlot lui permet de dévoiler tout le velouté de ses tanins et l’étendue de sa palette aromatique. Les millésimes jeunes (2-8ans) expriment le mieux ce plaisir fait de fruits rouges, de violette, de truffe et de sous-bois.

Page67 | Page68 | Page69 | Page70 | Page71 | Page72 |