Jbaudy Français
Jbaudy English
Jbaudy Español
Jbaudy Deutsch
Jbaudy 中文
Jbaudy 日本語

PhotoBlog | News | Contact | Download |

Clos du Clocher - Pomerol - JB Audy

CHÂTEAU

VINEYARD

WINERY

WINE

THE ROAWING 20s History shows of these post war years, there was a profound architectural and artistic shift. In Pomerol, a similar cultural revolution was underway: new owners, new ideas and new ambitions. In 1924, Jean Baptiste Audy began his own vineyard through the acquisition, under the shadow of the church spire, of some magnificent plots of vines. This was the birth of « Clos du Clocher ». All that followed was learning how to harness and work what nature had given. A NEW DEPARTURE One century later, the singular personality of this wine remained a secret to be shared among devotees. The Bordeaux architects Fabre de Marien created an intimate place, located inthe heart of the vineyard, to unravel the mystery of it. The enlarged vatting room, the underground cellar where we work by gravity, the old vintages cellar, form a new face to Clos du Clocher, in harmony with the surrounding vines.

PERFECT HARMONY If all of Pomerol is renowned for its terroir, ony a handful of chateaux can demonstrate the famous dense iron-rich clay across their plots. At Clos du Clocher, as at Petrus, Le Pin, La Conseillante and Vieux Château Certan, a «natural contract» binds the vines to its terroir, ensuring they reach full maturity, and that the grapes show intense complexity. A POINT OF DIFFERENCE At the heart of the Pomerol plateau, Clos du Clocher comprises three plots that cover a total area of 4.6ha. Merlot, of course, takes pride of place, but 30% of the blend comes from old Cabernet Franc vines that have long given the wine’s final blend its distinct personality. NOTHING IS LEFT TO CHANCE In the vines, hand harvesting, deleafing and sustainable, organic treatments against some diseases or parasites... all is conceived to ensure the plant’s natural balance is protected, and particular attention is lavished on 3ha that date from 1957. Hand harvesting is of course practised, with grapes picked into small baskets, then given a double sorting and later destalking.

SLOWLY DOES IT This stainless-steel and cement vats, so typical of the region, can vinify very small volumes of wine, and adapts itself perfectly to the needs of each tiny plot. By punching-down or pumping over, ss with a pot simmering slowly on a stove, at Clos du Clocher, we give every vat all the time it needs to fully express its potential. THE DEVELOPING WINE Each barrel will also make its own contribution to the final picture. The barrels are home to a large part of the malolactic fermentations, then are used for up to 18 months of wine ageing – and because of this they have to be selected and constructed with enormous care and attention, first by the barrel maker, and then by the winery team. THE MOMENT OF TRUTH After each ingredient is followed slowly and patiently to fruition, the time comes for it to add its own personality to the final blend. The blends, selected by the winery team at Clos du Clocher in parternship with Michel Rolland and his team, will define the structure and aromatic palette of the wines.

LE VIN

Clos du Clocher is one-of-a-kind, an insider’s wine that rewards those who look for originality and personality in their wines. Of course it has power and a naturally rich mouth-feel but equally evident is minerality and elegance. The discretion, almost rigour, of the aromas when very young (2-5 years) and on the first opening of the bottle, is swiftly replaced by an immense complexity: black fruits and the violet flowers of Merlot (6-10 years), but also spices, mint, tobacco (12-20 years) and the striking freshness from the Cabernet Franc that makes this wine timeless.

" A fabulous terroir " Robert Parker " Extraordinarily exciting wines " Vinum " Should be snapped up ! " Jancis Robinson

Page58 | Page59 | Page60 | Page61 | Page62 | Page63 | Page64 | Page65 | Page66 | Page67 |

Jbaudy Français
Jbaudy English
Jbaudy Español
Jbaudy Deutsch
Jbaudy 中文
Jbaudy 日本語

PhotoBlog | News | Contact | Download |

Clos du Clocher - Pomerol - JB Audy

LE CHÂTEAU

LE VIGNOBLE

LE CHAI

LE VIN

LES ANNÉE FOLLES L’histoire retiendra de ces années d’après-guerre un profond renouvellement de la pensée architecturale et artistique. A Pomerol, une véritable révolution culturelle est à l’œuvre : nouveaux propriétaires, nouvelles idées, nouvelles ambitions. En 1924, Jean Baptiste Audy s’attache à ce vignoble et acquiert, au pied de l’église, de magnifiques parcelles. Il en fera le « Clos du Clocher ». La suite est abnégation et lent apprentissage du travail de la nature. NOUVEAU DÉPART Un siècle plus tard, la forte personnalité de ce vin reste le secret que se partagent quelques initiés. Les architectes bordelais Fabre de Marien ont créé un lieu intime, plongé au cœur du vignoble, pour en percer le mystère. Le cuvier agrandi, le chai d’élevage enterré où l’on travaille par gravité, le caveau des vieux millésimes, forment un nouvel écrin, en harmonie avec la vigne qui l’entoure.

VIGNOBLE

PARFAITE SYMBIOSE Si l’ensemble de Pomerol est réputé pour son terroir, seule une poignée de châteaux peut revendiquer les fameuses argiles gonflantes sur son parcellaire. Au Clos du Clocher, à Petrus, Le Pin, La Conseillante ou Vieux Château Certan, un «contrat naturel» lie la vigne à son terroir, favorisant maturation et grande complexité aromatique des raisins. UNE POINTE D’ORIGINALITÉ Au cœur du plateau de Pomerol, le Clos du Clocher est composé de trois parcelles pour une superficie totale de 4,60 ha. Le Merlot, bien sûr, y occupe une place de choix, mais 30% de très vieux Cabernets Francs donne depuis longtemps un caractère hors normes à l’assemblage final. NE RIEN LAISSER AU HASARD A la vigne, les travaux manuels de taille, effeuillage, et épamprage, la lutte biologique contre certaines maladies ou parasites... jusqu’aux faibles rendements calculés pied par pied, tout concourt à l’équilibre naturel de la plante, avec une attention particulière pour les 3 hectares datant de 1957. Viennent alors les vendanges à la main, en cagettes, suivies d’un double tri, avant et après égrappage.

CHAI

PETIT A PETIT Ce chai en ciment et inox, si typique de la région, peut vinifier de très petits volumes, et s’adapter parfaitement aux spécificités de chaque parcelle. Par pigeage ou remontage, comme dans une cuisine à feu doux, au Clos du Clocher, nous laissons à chaque jus le temps dont il a besoin pour exprimer toute sa race. LE VIN SE CONSTRUIT Chaque barrique va également apporter sa pierre à l’ouvrage. Accueillant une grande partie des fermentations malolactiques, puis pendant 18 mois l’élevage du vin, elle se doit d’être choisie et travaillée avec rigueur, d’abord par le tonnelier puis par l’équipe du chai. L’HEURE DU CHOIX Si chaque « ingrédient » suit longtemps et patiemment son propre parcours, vient enfin le temps d’apporter sa personnalité à l’ensemble. Les assemblages, décidés par l’équipe du Clos du Clocher en accord avec Michel Rolland et son équipe, vont alors définitivement orienter la structure et la palette aromatique des vins.

LE VIN

Clos du Clocher est un vin unique, un vin d’initiés en quête d’originalité et de force de caractère. Bien sûr gras et puissance sont naturellement présents mais ils ne rendent que plus évidents la race et la minéralité. La discrétion, presque la rigueur des arômes dans sa prime jeunesse (2-5ans) et à l’ouverture des bouteilles, laisse ensuite place à une immense complexité : fruits noirs et violette du Merlot (6-10ans), mais aussi épices, menthol, tabac (12-20ans) et l’étonnante fraîcheur des cabernets francs qui en font un vin hors mode.

" Un terroir fabuleux " Robert Parker " Des vins extraordinairement racés " Vinum " A suivre d’urgence ! " Jancis Robinson

Page55 | Page56 | Page57 | Page58 | Page59 | Page60 | Page61 | Page62 | Page63 | Page64 | Page65 | Page66 |